Bulacan Agricultural State College

BASC Brief History

“Shaping Minds, Transforming Lives”

  BASC Brief History

The beginnings of Bulacan Agricultural State College went back to the time when in 1952  the Plaridel Community Agricultural High School with only 100 students was established at  Bintog, Plaridel, Bulacan. Soon after, it was renamed Bulacan Provincial Agricultural High School. Due to the nationalization of existing agricultural schools in 1953, under Republic Act 948 it was renamed Bulacan National Agricultural High School (BNAHS).  In 1955, Proclamation 163 was issued reserving for the site of the BNAHS around 192.5 hectares of the Buenavista Estate in San Ildefonso, Bulacan. In June 21,1959, through Republic Act 2416, BNAHS was converted to Bulacan National Agricultural School (BuNAS).  Thirty nine years after, on February 24, 1998, BuNAS was converted as a state college by virtue of Republic Act No. 8548.  

Bulacan Agricultural State College remains the first and only state-run higher educational institution of agriculture in Bulacan. For the past 23 years of existence as a state college, it has become an educational anchor for the poor but deserving students in Bulacan and the whole Central Luzon Region. It is one of the 55 out of 106 State Universities and Colleges in the country with Level III status based on CMO No. 09, s. 2019 issued by the Commission on Higher Education.

Three past presidents led the Bulacan Agricultural State College, Dr. Rolando F. Camacho  (Dec. 9,1998- Dec. 8, 2002); Dr. Josie A. Valdez (Dec. 9, 2002-Jan. 31,2011) and Dr. Gerardo Mendoza (Feb. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2019) before Dr. Jameson H. Tan assumed as the 4th BASC President on February 1, 2019.

At present, the College has three campuses, and two extension classes in three of the sixth legislative districts of Bulacan. The Main Campus is located in Brgy. Pinaod, San Ildefonso with the College of Agriculture Campus at Brgy. Poblacion, San Ildefonso while the DRT Campus, established in 2005 is located at Brgy. Sapang Bulak, Doña Remedios Trinidad (3rd District). The offering of extension programs under Memorandum of Agreement are located at BTVC-BNAHS, Brgy. Pulong Bayabas, Balagtas (5th District) and DepEd Bulacan-FFHNAS, Brgy. Guyong, Sta. Maria (6th District).

Through the initiative and leadership of Congresswoman Lorna C. Silverio, House Bill 8111, “An Act converting  BASC into Bulacan State Agricultural University” successfully passed at the House of Representatives and has been approved in the First Reading at Senate of the Philippines under Senate Bill 2106.

The Bulacan Agricultural State College has held on tight to its commitment made several years ago. Unprecedented growth in all its programs has been paying off especially in terms of educational benefits to countless students and families in the region. As it undergoes the process of transforming into a state university, BASC remains committed to offer the best that the students could possibly get in a truly accessible, relevant and quality education, hence, the motto: “Shaping Minds, Transforming Lives”.